The Black Angels Announce New Album ‘Death Song’ & Share Single ‘Currency’

By Kieran Webber

The Black Angels first graced our ears with their psychedelic barrage back in 2004, now they have become on of the key figures in the psych world. Recently the Austin band have announced their highly anticipated new album ‘Death Song’, set for release April 21st via Partisan Records.

Written and recorded in large part during the recent election cycle, the music on ‘Death Song’ serves as part protest, part emotional catharsis in a climate dominated by division, anxiety and unease. The lead single ‘Currency’ melds an infectious riff with the sentiment of the financial world – with the theme that we are slaves to money.

Listen to ‘Currency’ here:

Album Artwork & Tracklist:


1. Currency
2. I’d Kill For Her
3. Half Believing
4. Comanche Moon
5. Hunt Me Down
6. Grab As Much (As You Can)
7. Estimate
8. I Dreamt
9. Medicine
10. Death March
11. Life Song

Kieran Webber

Journalism graduate based in Newquay, Cornwall. My project Clunk Magazine covers surf, Music, Art, skate and Lifestyle. In time we hope to integrate with as many artistic and creative people as possible making an online hub for creativeness, surfing and lifestyle, something I feel that accompanies the other.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s