Fast Romantics Announce New Album ‘American Love’ & Share New Single ‘Why We Fight’

By Kieran Webber

Toronto-based indie rockers, Fast Romantics have announced news of their sophomore album ‘American Love’, set for release April 28th via Light Organ RecordsProduced by the dynamic duo of Gus Van Go and Werner F (Arkells, Wintersleep, Hollerado), ‘American Love’ is the follow-up record to Fast Romantic’s 2013 release, ‘Afterlife Blues’. Written and recorded over two years, alternating between Toronto and Brooklyn, ‘American Love’ is a nod to the type of cinematic storybook romance American pop culture has conditioned us to search for, but also explores the realities at play off the silver screen that can wreak havoc on burgeoning love. 

Frontman and lyricist Matthew Angus speaks about the album, “I was falling pretty hard in love when we started the record”, he continues, “But the songs ended up being paintings of what it felt like to fall in love while the rest of the world went mad. The American election went bizarre and took over the Canadian one, everybody’s obsession with social media hit some kind of peak, and suddenly everyone — everywhere — was talking about America. Smartphones were going off like bombs everywhere I went. It started seeping into the songwriting, and now I’m not even sure how to describe it. Is it a collection of love songs about politics or is it a collection of political songs about love?”

In addition to the news of the album the band have also shared powerful single ‘Why We Fight’, a politically charged indie-rock number that appeals to us to find the good and love in the world.

Listen to ‘Why We Fight’ here:

Album Artwork & Tracklist

Fast Romantics_American Love_album cover_72dpi.jpg

01 Everybody’s Trying to Steal Your Heart

02 Why We Fight – Lyric Video

03 American Love

04 Get Loved

05 Ready for the Night

06 Radio Waves

07 Julia – Video

08 Alberta

09 Kids Without a Country

10 Runaway Girl

11 How Long Is This Gonna Last

12 Heaven’s Alright