Luke James
Luke James

CLUNK Magazines chief album review guy and a lover of cats!

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Label: Lovers Music

‘It’s All There But You’re Dreaming’ is the debut album from post punk trio False Heads. Having already been released on all of the streaming sites, False Heads are ready to unleash the physical copies of their debut on the world.

From the opening strains of ‘Whatever You Please’, you’re lulled into thinking that False Heads might be going a little easy on you. When all of the instruments crash in together though, you wonder what the drums might’ve done to deserve such a beating. False Heads manage to make more noise than a three piece has any right to. All instruments appear to be played at full force which grabs you by the collar and makes you pay attention.

Songs like ‘Fall Around’ and ‘Twenty Nothing’ bring the melody to the heaviness and remind me a little of that post grunge sound of The Subways or The Vines. Like those bands, False Heads rarely let the audio assault down. Even when it comes to their softer song ‘Comfort Consumption’, Luke Griffith’s vocals still have that energy that lets you know that it could all get lively again at the drop of an overdrive pedal.

Seeming to draw influences from bands such as Band of Skulls, Queens of the Stone Age and A, False Heads smash everything together, turn the amps up and dare you to come and get sweaty in a mosh pit.

Let us know what you think!