By Kieran Webber

Gulp are a Cardiff-based, garage space-pop band fronted by Guto Pryce (Super Furry Animals) & Lindsey Leven. Originally from Scotland, vocalist Lindsey moved to Cardiff where she met Guto Pryce at a Christmas psych party–a joining of kindred spirits in a city with an ever-evolving arts scene. It was there that the foundations of Gulp came to be as the two joined forces to create this musical venture; the band name coming from a play on words of combining both of their initials. The pair are joined by permanent member Gid Goundrey on guitar and various friends on drums including Stuart Kidd (Euros Child/Norman Blake), Kliph Scurlock (Flaming Lips/ Gruff Rhys), Gwion Lleweyln (Meilyr Jones) & others.

Gulp make warm, fuzzy, luscious psych pop by combining ethereal sounds of both acoustic and electric drums and synths. Their music is something of a journey taking you on an adventure through a variety of soundscapes that dances between retro and futuristic.

Their latest single (recorded in a farm in Mid Wales) ‘Search For Your Love’ boasts the band’s skill to blend the old and new, creating a haunting yet familiar psychedelic sound.

Listen to ‘Search For Your Love’ here:

‘Search For Your Love’ is available now via via Tim Burgess’ independent label O Genesis and Gulp are currently working with Luke Abbott on their second album, which is set to be released later this year.


Let us know what you think!