By Kieran Webber

The Seattle born artist has announced his third LP ‘Sonderlust’ via Joyful Noise Recordings  which follows his critically acclaimed ‘Lighght’. With the help of producer Chris Taylor (Grizzly Bear), engineer Pat Dillet (Angelique Kidjo, David Byrne), and drummer Matt Chamberlain (Morrissey, Fiona Apple, of Montreal) they have bought the latest installment to life. ‘Sonderlust’ spans multiple genres throughout its ten tracks, incorporating songs that longtime fans will recognise as being distinctly Kishi Bashi, along with those that stray from his usual sound.

The album could be his most personal to date as it sees him exploring his inner self, Kishi explains “I questioned everything about what it means to love and desire…the difference between loving someone and being in love”.

The most recent tracks ‘Say Yeah’ and ‘Hey Big Star‘ taken from the album act as evidence to Bashi’ journey into the deepest parts of his soul where he clearly is longing to find love, a beautiful concept that all can relate to.

Listen here:

‘Say Yeah’

‘Hey Big Star’

Album artwork & Tracklist


1. m’lover
2. Hey Big Star
3. Say Yeah
4. Can’t Let Go, Juno
5. Ode to My Next Life
6. Who’d You Kill
7. Statues in a Gallery
8. Why Don’t You Answer Me
9. Flame on Flame (a Slow Dirge)
10. Honeybody

Let us know what you think!