By Ross Jones

Philadelphia via New York City group Field Mouse have announced their return and plans to release a brand new record this August.

‘Episodic’ is the band’s first album to be written and recorded as an out-and-out group, with founding members Rachel Brown and Andrew Futral being joined by Saysha Heinzman, Tim McCoy and ZoĆ« Brown. The album was recorded with Hop Along’s Joe Reinhart on production duties and features guest appearances from Sadie Dupuis (Speedy Ortiz), Allison Crutchfield (Swearin’ / Waxahatchee) and Joseph D’Agostino (Cymbals Eat Guitars).

The group have also shared a track from the record in the fuzzy guitar-pop dream of ‘The Mirror’. It’s gutsy, emotional drive forms the foundation for Rachel Brown’s intelligent, life-lived verse – it’s punching and delicate all at the same time, a mixture of tones that sit comfortably amongst one another to present something effective.

Field Mouse’s new album, ‘Episodic’, is out 2nd August through Topshelf Records.

Listen to ‘The Mirror’ here:

Let us know what you think!