Music | News | Pascal Pinon Announce New Album ‘Sundur’ & Share Beautiful Single ’53’

By Kieran Webber

Icelandic sisters Jófríõur Ákadóttir & Ásthildur, AKA Pascal Pinon have announced news of their new album ‘Sundur’, due August 26th via Morr Music. The third album is arguably their most ambitious yet with it being written and produced by themselves, creating an intimate and personal body of music.

The duo have also shared their latest single ’53’ a minimalist folk track that carries a beautiful yet haunting story, Jófríõur explains – “53 was written the summer of 2012. I was in the east of Iceland, it was early morning after this art festival I was playing at, we’d had a late night and were so drained, completely empty and so receptive and vulnerable to emotions.

I had met this boy there, I hardly knew him but we went for a walk around the town. We walked to a church, which happened to be open so we sat down and started talking about life and death as if we’d known each other for years and years. The boy told us about his mother and how she had passed away when he was just a kid. She had suffered from mental illness and jumped out of a window. When I got home I kept thinking about it, it had such an impact on me. I was beginning to understand that people don’t live forever. I wished there was something I could say to him but I didn’t know how, so I put together this song, as a kind of consolation or a message to him.”

Listen here:

Album artwork and tracklisting:


1. Jósa & Lotta
2. 53
3. Forest
4. Skammdegi
5. Fuglar
6. Spider Light
7. Orange
8. Twax
9. Babies
10. Ást
11. Weeks