Enumclaw – Photography by Colin Matsui

George Ward
George Ward

Freelance journalist based in Bristol. Can be found at the Grain Barge, Rough Trade or in his tiny basement bedroom writing for CLUNK.

Legendary label Speedy Wunderground continue their 10th anniversary celebrations with a 3-track EP and a party at Village Underground

Speedy Wunderground, the label helmed by producer Dan Carey, is responsible for the most exciting releases of the last ten years. With bands such as black midi, Black Country, New Road and Squid all releasing singles in their iconic 7″ singles series, they continue to push up-and-coming talent through their exciting production style and strict manifesto.

Now, following signings of Viji, Heartworms and O., the label are celebrating their tenth anniversary. On 16th September, they will throw a party at Village Underground, with appearances from Kae Tempest, Honeyglaze and many many more Speedy alumni. Each band will play up to 2 tracks, giving us a taste of each of their unique sounds.

Today, Speedy Wunderground have also dropped a 3-track EP from their time at SXSW, featuring tracks from Enumclaw, Revival Season and alexalone. While Enumclaw and Revival Season had planned sessions, alexalone’s came from Carey and Hall overhearing their gig on the walk back to their Air BnB.

The EP is sonically diverse, incredibly exciting and exactly what we have come to expect from one of London’s most buzzy labels.

Speedy Wunderground – SXSW EP is out on limited vinyl on November 17th.

The 10th Anniversary party is taking place on September 16th. It is now sold out.

Listen to the EP here:

Let us know what you think!