Luke James
Luke James

CLUNK Magazines chief album review guy and a lover of cats!

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Label: Self-Released

‘The Sum Of Our Fears’ is the latest EP from East London three piece The Howlers. Labelled as “desert rock” it’s much more than that. With almost a touch of Mersey sound about it, ‘The Sum Of Our Fears’ is like The Zutons playing desert rock but with a strut about it that makes you sit up and pay attention.

‘Lost Without You’ opens the EP with that Mersey sound but played with the kind of springy reverb guitar usually saved for 60’s psychedelia. While the chorus of ‘Lost Without You’ seems to have its roots in indie, ‘I Don’t Love You All The Time’ comes out all guns blazing. With the same springy, staccato guitar that traditionally pepper The Howlers songs, the chorus is rooted in loud rock with it’s heavy distortion. The guitar breaks through the speaker and commands your attention. ‘Never Enough’ has that same desert rock swagger as Queens Of The Stone Age but with a rawness about it that The Howlers showcase a lot on ‘The Sum Of Our Fears’. ‘The Borderline’ rounds out the EP with another dose of heavy blues, psychedelia influenced rock.

In ‘The Sum Of Our Fears’, The Howlers are dipping their toes into a few genres and collecting them altogether to create something that is undoubtedly their own. There is no doubt that The Howlers are on the way to rock n roll dominance, this EP is just a taste of what’s to come.

Let us know what you think!