By Kieran Webber

The Leeds based indie group The Pigeon Detectives have announced their forthcoming album ‘Broken Glances’ available February 24th via Dance To The Radio and shared the lead single ‘Sounding The Alarm’ as well as announcing a UK tour this March.

Touching on the themes of the album lead singer Matt Bowman said: ‘We’ve spent a decade writing songs for our fans, songs they could scream out loud to and go wild to at gigs! On this album we felt we owed it to them to actually deliver something real that documents the journey we’ve all been on together. With this record we sat back from it a bit and it created more freedom to write without any kind of agenda, and with more emotional ups and downs across the album. That’s why these songs don’t necessarily smack you straight in the face like previous albums. But if you listen hard enough and take some time over the’ll realise it’s an ode to everyone that’s ever bought an album or turned up to a show”. 

The lead single ‘Sounding The Alarm’ sets the tone for the album confirming what Matt previously explained, it relies on the band’s subtleties to create an effect only to then bring the thunder close the end.

Listen to ‘Sounding The Alarm’ here:

March UK Tour Dates:

2 Mar: Whelan’s, Dublin
3 Mar: Limelight 2, Belfast
4 Mar: Electric Circus, Edinburgh
5 Mar: Stereo, Glasgow
7 Mar: The Leadmill, Sheffield
8 Mar: O2 Institute 2, Birmingham
9 Mar: Rescue Rooms, Nottingham
10 Mar: Sugarmill, Stoke
11 Mar: Gorilla, Manchester
13 Mar: Thekla, Bristol
14 Mar: Wedgewood Rooms, Portsmouth
15 Mar: Electric Ballroom, London
29 April: Live at Leeds